Time To Dust Off The Bike
The weather is making its annual transition from chilly to warm; officially turning in to Spring on March 29th. Between the weather and the state of Missouri issuing a stay-at-home order, more and more cyclists and motorists will be dusting off those warm-weather vehicles and taking them to the road. If you are a motorist, here are some of Missouri’s rules and regulations for staying safe on the road!
Missouri has specific but reasonable laws for motorcyclists. Although they tend to stay relatively the same, as a motorist, it is responsible to check if there is any change legislation. According to Safemotorist.com, simply buying a motorcycle does not qualify you to drive on public roads in Missouri. In order to legally operate a motorcycle, the driver must earn a Class M motorcycle license or permit OR obtain the M endorsement on your normal Missouri Drivers License. When dusting off your bike this spring, make sure you are up to date with your license/permits.
What a lot of younger motorists do not know is that you may apply for a motorcycle permit at 15 ½ (15 years and 182 days). In order to attain this permit, the young motorist must pass the Class M written test. If you do not have a normal MO drivers license, you can take and pass the Class F or M written test to receive a motorcycle permit.
Regardless of your age, you may have either a permit or an actual license. However, with a permit comes restrictions. If you are over the age of 16 and only carry a motorcycle permit you cannot: have passengers, and only drive in the daylight. For those who wish to earn their actual motorist license in Missouri they must pass a knowledge and on-cycle skill test. It is important to note that drivers may overestimate their own abilities when driving a motorcycle. Always be aware when driving a car or on a motorcycle.
For Missouri Motorist written study materials please visit this link
Like other motor vehicle laws in Missouri, insurance is required. Bikebound.com gives a detailed list of the minimum insurance motorcyclists must have in order to legally operate their vehicle on public roads. This list includes:
$25,000 death/ bodily injury to every 1 person
$50,000 death/ bodily injury to 2 or more persons
$10,000 damage and destruction of property.
Beyond insurance, the state of Missouri also requires various safety precautions such as wearing a helmet, handlebars being set at least 15 inches above the seat, headlights, mufflers, and periodic safety inspections for the bike. Violating any of these laws could result in a ticket and/or fine- as with any traffic violation.
Safety and abiding by the law should always come first to ensure safety among you and your fellow motorists. However, these simple laws should not keep you from doing what you love- getting out and enjoying your time on your bike and on the road. Motorists in Missouri are lucky enough to have all the scenic routes that make up our state’s highways.
As everyone knows, this Spring (2020) is looking a little different than others in the past. With the citizens of MO being ordered to stay home as much as possible. What we are all coming to find is that staying at home can be difficult and, lets be honest, boring. If you are a motorist you may be busting at the seams to get out and get on the road. Luckily, you can find Missouri’s favorite motorcycle routes on motorcycleroads.com. You may find that it is in your best interest to go out and explore the beautiful state of Missouri.
Times may be tough and uncertain, but we encourage you to get out and not let these odd times impact doing what you love- which is getting out on your bike and riding!